WhyWork, finding the lost essays, and why I love the human potential to evolve.

Hi everyone, You may have noticed I am working a bit on my “daily-posts”, first of all, it’s because I feel guilty, not for not posting something daily, but for not getting my ideas written down before I forget them ( and I’m having a lot of those, I can guarantee that ! ).

So, why am I posting about WhyWork ?

Simply said, it’s because I find their ideals, their values, to resonate with what I believe in.

Of course, not all the ideas resonate with me, but, as the very receptive resonating crystal of thought that I am, I am finding stuff that have always interested me and that keeps making connections with what I already believe in constantly turning up in new material that I find.

This is one such “Resonance of Ideas”, if you’re willing to hear me talk in such newage-ish terms ;), otherwise, it just kindles the fires that fuel my curiosity.

Enough about me and my madness, let’s get WhyWork into focus :

WhyWork is a website that promotes rethinking how we live, what we believe in, and, most importantly, makes us question the “social inequalities” that we have been brainwashed to believe are unsolvable.

Here’s a link to their main page and some links to several essays that I have found on the net that are linked to on their page (the links here mentioned,except for the main-page of course, are the “lost” ones I mentioned in the title, links who are indicated on their website but are broken where I have managed to find the original essays again), so that you can see for yourself how profound a message the CLAWS ( Creating Livable Alternatives to Wage Slavery.) are sending out :

WhyWork homepage

Do you wanna work or do you wanna job ?

Seven Great Alternatives to College

We’re not off to see the Wizard:revisiting the Idea of College.

Manual labor as an attractive career for the college-educated

The Cult of the Job

The Abolition of Work

We Don’t Want Full Employment, We Want Full Lives!

Bob Black: Abolitionist and Archestrator of the Slack Revolution

What’s Wrong with This Picture?

Anxiety Culture Webzine

Some of the links aren’t really broken, but I thought I might as well include them here as they are very interesting in themselves.

Oh, and I found a site that explains a bit more about EarthShips, and living in harmony with nature in general.

As much as it may traumatize some to think of living in a house made of tyres, beer cans, and other miscellaneous items, I’d think it sounds exciting, especially with their future-like look.

(Blatantly Fake Post Scriptum)

(B)FPS: If you’re on a pay-by-the-hour Internet paying scheme and mostly read articles on the net, get Pocket ( ReadItLater ) add-on for your browser and set it to auto-download any articles you save, this will let you save any article link you fancy and read them off line later, without worrying about the costs of the ‘net.

Greetings,

Peter.

About novusophia

21 year old undergraduate (Year 2) Biology student in Perpignan, France. I'm obsessed with Biotech, Science in general, and Entrepreneurship, and planning on one day combining them all ! (Also, I'm going to take over the world... bow before the overlord !)
This entry was posted in Books, freedom, Introductory, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to leave a piece of your mind behind :)

