Knowledge and Empirism in Science

Hello, We are now entering the part of the year were we have, at least in France, lots of holidays, so I’ll be able to post more than once or twice a weekend (assuming I’m not too occupied trying to understand what an Integral is or some other homework ;))

So, let’s begin with a simple question, associated with a poll (I’ll probably further develop this subject in a later post based on the results of this one) :

What is Knowledge ?

I know it might seem vague, but do we really have a definite idea of what we mean by saying that someone has “knowledge” on a subject ? I dare say we tend to generalize the word knowledge to encompass every kind of thing there is to “know”, but can we find a better definition? or are we doomed(/blessed) to only have a general view of this term ? (If you’re wondering, The poll is about the first question only, but feel free to comment with any answers you may have to the others !)

Next up comes empiricism, many may think( here I’m basically trying to anger you, making you think “I’m no Ignorant you *@!£ !” so you’ll leave me a “nice” comment :)) I’m gonna talk about something like what empires are, but empiricism is also known as something else entirely : The empirical Method.

The empirical method is, basically, how we have been accumulating “knowledge” for most of the 20-21st centuries, It is based on a very simple principle : Build upon thou past !

This means that Scientific Empiricism is basically accumulating knowledge and inventing new “stuff” (computers, phones, Einstein’s Equations, basic arithmetic, programming, etc…) based on what is already known.
This system is, of course, great ! It has many advantages (We don’t force our children to sit down behind a desk and discover the Law of cosines (For the math-gives-me-a-headache person, this would be a version of the Pythagoras Theorem that applies to all triangles) by themselves, now do we?) And it let’s scientists discover new things constantly (some of those new things. of course, being superb and proving some past argument/law/Theorem wrong… I wonder if there are Scientists/Historians specialized in gathering what old information has become obsolete and find any Theorem or Scientific Paper containing it and rectifying it ? …probably not..would resemble the memory hole of 1984 too much).

Well, I don’t know if this satisfies your curiosity or not. But, as I said in a preceding post, I’m mainly using some of the next posts to experiment with the different blogging options available on Word-press (ei., in this post I’m testing the **careful…high irony ahead** “holy grail” of user-support : the Poll).

My Greetings, Peter.

About novusophia

21 year old undergraduate (Year 2) Biology student in Perpignan, France. I'm obsessed with Biotech, Science in general, and Entrepreneurship, and planning on one day combining them all ! (Also, I'm going to take over the world... bow before the overlord !)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to leave a piece of your mind behind :)

