Thinking pragmaticly, The Dreyfus model, and PocketMod

Hello Readers ( in case there are people who read my utterly disastrous humble little blog ), today’s post is about Organizing your schedule cheaply, learning stuff and thinking in an organized fashion.

I’ve recently been reading a book about cognitive theory, which explains some basics of how our brain work and, the reason I begun reading it, how to learn stuff and actually remember most of it afterwards ( I really need this…My short-term memory is the equivalent of a goldfish…give me your name and I’ll ask for it again in a minute! ).

The book’s title ( this isn’t a referrer link if anyone wonders I don’t know how to use them and won’t bother respect my readers too much to try and make a profit on them ), in case anyone is wondering, is Pragmatic Thinking and Learning.In the book, the first chapter(s) talks of the Dreyfus model, a model developed by the Dreyfus brother’s in the 1970s, This model presents five kinds of skill levels:

  1. Novice : abide by rules that can be applied in any scenario but can’t solve problems if they have no guidelines( aka., no context-free rules = Failures )
  2. The Advanced Beginner : a person beginning to be more advanced ( Duh! ), able tosolve some basic new problems but doesn’t actively seek them out ( no problems = day in the bed )
  3. The Competent : Able to find their own errors and will seek out problems to solve for pleasure.
  4. The Proficient Practitioner : He is able to fix his own errors. He applies context-dependent “maxims” to whatever he does and can concentrate on the Relevant Context instead of the general one.
  5. The EXPERT ( nope, not those from “Experts :Miami”, … ) who rely on their intuition ( which is explained in the book as being the conscious processes that are necessary for the job, except they’ve been used so much that they have been burnt into the brain, making them preconscious processes ).

So, This model is greatly used in ( this shocked me a bit, not because of the domain but because this book is made for Programmers…) The science of being a good nurse, and has apparently saved the profession form collapse !

But let’s get on with my little plans, for here comes the reason I thought I’d create a post today, The PocketMod :

So, the Pocketmod is basically your typical printing paper folded in a specific way, but the beauty is that, by folding it in this way, and by having printed specific “Mods” onto the paper, you can obtain a miniature, 6 sides + cover and back, notebook !

Of course, some would say, this paper is like other printing paper, it’s just folded and it’ll be difficult to write down thoughts on it without encountering problems ( like your pen going through the paper or whatnot), it’s much better to use a dedicated PDA, notebook, etc.

Well, I only have one thing to say about that, And it’s easily expressed through these photos of my first (badly folded) PocketMod ๐Ÿ™‚ :

And, thus, I leave you to feast you eyes upon this obviously novice post !

My Best Wishes, Peter.

(Fake-)P.S: Please do leave a comment about the post, I’d highly appreciate it !

About novusophia

21 year old undergraduate (Year 2) Biology student in Perpignan, France. I'm obsessed with Biotech, Science in general, and Entrepreneurship, and planning on one day combining them all ! (Also, I'm going to take over the world... bow before the overlord !)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thinking pragmaticly, The Dreyfus model, and PocketMod

  1. Andy Hunt says:

    Hey Peter! Glad you liked my book. I’m a fan of PocketMod, also the very tiny Moleskine books. Cheers.

    /\ndy

    • novusophia says:

      Thanks for stopping by ! I am loving your book more and more, even though I already finished it (I’m planning to read it with that nifty SQ3R technique one of these days, just to be sure I got everything !).
      Yeah, those moleskine notebooks look really good, but for now I’ll go with the PocketMods , I’ve already made 3 different ones that I carry in my pockets ( finally a use for those pant-pockets you find on the back of most pants…Now they are officially renamed PocketMod Pockets ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

      I hope you thought my post did justice to the book.
      And now I’m off to read Practical Programming with Python , It got me to use the a Thesaurus for the first time ! ( I mean… do you know how many people who know–in a book for beginner programmers–the word “Unary” ? Nearly no one, at least in my social circles… ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

      Bye, and hope you have a good time.

      My Best Wishes, Peter.

Feel free to leave a piece of your mind behind :)

