Dwarf Fortress

Hello there ! (if there’s anyone out there at all..?)

So, today I thought I’d share one of the two only games that I have actually really played and enjoyed for the last year (yeah…depressing isn’t it… ):

Dwarf Fortress is what you would call a, well, deeply complex game with many good sides, I won’t explain the basics or anything, I’ll just give the pros and cons + a few screen-shots to demonstrate each:

Pro’s:

  • There’s more than 150+ layers to dig into!
  • you can play for any reason you want ( the game is focused around having FUN, where fun in the official DF slang is, well, to lose ! and to rebuild afterwards ! )
  • You control an entire civilization of dwarfs !! Who hasn’t dreamed of this :

These pictures illustrate the 2-D beauty of DF…after you install a graphic pack, that is !

which leads me to the Cons:

con’s:

  • Dwarf Fortress is originally designed with ASCII graphics ( for those who don’t know…observe the following image and try to determine what is what :) ) :

Yep, that’s ASCII for you, only recommended to the “old-school 3l1t3 hackers” .

But fortunately, as you can see in the above pics, there’s several graphic packs available to ease your eyes .

  • Incredibly steep learning curve, but for that you have The Complete And Utter Newbie Tutorial.
  • Well, if you can’t stand losing, then you’re in for a mouthful ! this is the only game I’ve ever found where losing is funnier than creating a great civilization !

That’s that for today folks ( always wanted to say that…even if I have no idea why !)

I know that there’s already lots of posts about DF and a number of guides and stuff, I just wanted to justify my new temporary blog header a little ( +, if I create any new addicts, even one, that’s one more person to play with when we all go to Dwarf Fortress Hell for killing so many innocent dwarfs !)

 

P.S : If anyone wondered…Yeah, the second game is Minecraft XD ( and , due to computer problems, I have not played either of these for over 2 months !)

About novusophia

21 year old undergraduate (Year 2) Biology student in Perpignan, France. I'm obsessed with Biotech, Science in general, and Entrepreneurship, and planning on one day combining them all ! (Also, I'm going to take over the world... bow before the overlord !)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to leave a piece of your mind behind :)

